Compound feed

News 1028 views last update:2 Nov 2016

Webinar: Antibiotic reduction in swine in Europe

At the upcoming EuroTier, Phileo and Pig Progress present an exclusive webinar on the challenges and opportunities for antibiotic reduction in swine.

The European pig sector has done a great effort to limit the use of antibiotics, however which nutritional strategies are available to enhance pig health even further?

In this webinar / live event from Pig Progress in cooperation with Phileo, we take a closer look at some of these aspects as experts share their latest research findings in alternatives to antibiotics and the impact of antibiotic reduction strategies.

Dr Paolo Trevisi, Associate Professor at the Animal husbandry at Department of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL), University of Bologna will speak about the interest of using probiotics to reduce the use of antibiotics in pigs.

Dr Paolo Trevisi is Associate Professor – Animal husbandry at Department  of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL) at the University of Bologna  (Italy)
Dr Paolo Trevisi is Associate Professor – Animal husbandry at Department of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL) at the University of Bologna (Italy)

Since 2013, Dr Paolo Trevisi is Associate Professor – Animal husbandry at Department of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL) at the University of Bologna (Italy). He has a Post-Doctorate in Animal Nutrition - alternative to in feed antibiotic (pig) at the Agriculture Faculty, University of Bologna. Its study: feeding and management strategies to increase the natural resistance of pigs to the pathogen infection, with attention on the gastro‐intestinal disorders in piglets around weaning.

Dr Dominique Marchand DVM at EPIDALIS (France) will give a presentation about the impact of antibiotic reduction strategies in swine health management (including field experience)

Dr Dominique Marchand DVM at EPIDALIS (France)
Dr Dominique Marchand DVM at EPIDALIS (France)

Dr Marchand, graduated as a Doctor of Veterinary Medicines (Nantes, France), is a veterinarian at EPIDALIS and has wide experience in pig production in Europe.

  • The webinar, moderated by Emmy Koeleman, editor All About Feed, will last an hour and a half and will start on November 17, at 15.30 pm Central European Summer Time. This corresponds to:
  • 09.30 am Atlanta, Georgia,
  • 10.30 am São Paulo, Brazil,
  • 04.30 pm in Moscow, Russia,
  • 08.30 pm in Bangkok, Thailand
  • 09.30 pm in Beijing, China.

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. Join our experts, attendance is free.

To join the free webinar online register here. You can also join the event at EuroTier (Room New York).

An overview of all the webinars that we organise at EuroTier can be found here.

Or register to be able to comment.