Feed additives

News 5110 views

Webinar: Reducing antibiotics in animal diets

Antibiotic reduction in livestock is probably one of the hottest topics today. Join us for a new great All About Feed webinar, dedicated to this topic, on 12 October. It is a great opportunity to ask your questions directly to the experts.

With the increased level of resistant bacteria, the global livestock industry is therefore moving away from preventive use of antibiotics. This worldwide movement started in Europe, but soon spread to other continents as well. In this live, interactive webinar, three excellent speakers explain which alternatives to antibiotics are on the markets and how this should be applied in practice.

Past, current and future outlook for antibiotics

Luís Pedro Garmo, Research Assistant at the Veterinary Public Health Institute, University of Bern, will delve into global antibiotic use and reduction and explains this from a veterinarians perspective. All around the world, farmers and veterinarians are aware of the fact that antibiotics (both preventive in some parts of the world, or curative by veterinarians) should be used with care. The European Union has been monitoring the use of antibiotic and the resistance levels for many years already. But also registration programmes are in place in other parts of the world. In this presentation we give an overview of the current situation of antibiotics in farm animals and the associated risks of increased resistance levels.

Less antibiotics, better for the animal

Susanne Kirwan PhD, product manager Health at Kemin Europe will speak about antibiotic reduction: the animal point of view. In this presentation, Susanne will explain the benefits for the animals when fewer antibiotics are used. She will delve into the concept of creating a healthy, balanced, gut microflora in poultry, as this offers protection from pathogens such as for example Clostridia. Additionally, it can make production more efficient by improving feed conversion. But which feed ingredients / additives can help in achieving a healthy gut? Susanne will delve into a few and how these can help in reducing antibiotics.

Eubiotic nutrition to reduce antibiotics

The concept of eubiotic nutrition and how this can help to further reduce antibiotics is explained by André Meeusen, independent consultant and invited by FRAmelco to speak about this topic at the webinar with a focus on non-antibiotic feed additives based on alpha monoglycerides. André will share his knowledge on alpha-monoglycerides from short chain and medium chain fatty acids, which are active in the entire gastro-intestinal tract of the animal. Their strong antimicrobial effect stimulates animal health in general, and gut health in particular.

The webinar will be hosted by Emmy Koeleman, editor in chief, All About Feed.

The webinar Antibiotic Reduction will last an hour and will start at 4 pm Central European Summer Time on 12 October. This corresponds to e.g. 10 am Atlanta, Georgia, 11 am São Paulo, Brazil, 5 pm in Moscow, Russia, 9 pm in Bangkok, Thailand and 10 pm in Beijing, China.

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment.

Or register to be able to comment.