U.S. Grains Council elects new board, officers

22-07-2010 | |

A new slate of officers and Board of Directors were elected at the U.S. Grains Council’s 50th Annual Board of Delegates Meeting.

Terry Vinduska, a corn farmer representing the Kansas Corn Commission, was elected chairman for the 2010-2011 fiscal year.

A native of Kansas, Vinduska graduated with honors from Kansas State University in 1972 with a bachelor’s degree in agriculture. He’s had a varied career in agriculture since that time. He worked for Hesston Corporation in field test engineering before returning to the family farm.

He currently grows corn, sorghum, soybeans and wheat and is VP of S and V Family Farms LLC. Vinduska also serves as a sales representative for Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.

Vinduska served on the USGC Rest of the World Advisory Team (A-Team) and was the Board liaison to the Biotech and Asia A-Teams. He also served as part of the Structure Task Force, the Funding Task Force and numerous other committees within the Council. He takes over the role of chairman as Rick Fruth, a farmer from Ohio representing the Ohio Corn Marketing Program, transitions into the past chairman position.

Thomas C. Dorr, USGC president and CEO: “As the U.S. Grains Council begins its 51st year, we are fortunate to have strong, active leadership in place. Our new chairman, Mr. Vinduska, the Board of Directors, Board of Delegates, ATeam leaders and state liaisons provide excellent insight into the challenges and opportunities in the international market arena. The Council’s success over its first five decades is attributable to a long tradition of farmer and agribusiness leadership that’s determined to see the Council succeed.”

Other officers elected include Wendell Shauman, representing Illinois Corn Marketing Board, as vice chairman; Don Fast, representing Montana Wheat & Barley Committee, as treasurer; and Julius Schaaf, representing Iowa Corn Promotion Board, as secretary. Alan Tiemann, of the Nebraska Corn Board, was re-elected to the Council’s Board of Directors. Newly elected Board members include James Tobin of Monsanto; Bill Kubecka of United Sorghum Checkoff Program; and Jere White of Kansas Corn Commission.

Join 26,000+ subscribers

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated about all the need-to-know content in the feed sector, three times a week.